Impacted crop question

bismo

In the Brooder
May 17, 2022
Hi, yesterday I was treating my hen for impacted crop. There was a hard, golf ball sized mass in the crop. I fed her olive oil through a syringe and was able to soften and break up the blockage. The issue is, every time I massage it and break it up, it seems to re-settle and get firm again. Shouldn't it be getting past the crop after it's broken up? I was hoping her crop would be clear this morning, but it wasn't. So, today I did the same thing and started breaking it up again and feeding her olive oil, but I really don't know why I'm not seeing any progress. Any suggestions? Also, I am a first time chicken owner, and my hens are only about 6 months old, so I'm really new to this.

Extra:
She pooped twice yesterday, but they were both small and relatively liquidy.
She has drank a little bit on her own that I've seen, and I also fed her some through a syringe yesterday.
She has been separated from the other hens, and has only been given access to water/electrolytes
The crop seems to be empty other than the small mass.
Her tail is down and she seems sort of puffed up, and lethargic.
They have been switched to layer feed within the last week, and have access to grit.

Sometimes the crop is a symptom of something going on farther down the digestive tract. Did this happen after you changed feeds? Do they have access to grit (crushed granite, not oyster shell for calcium)? Have you ever wormed your birds or had a fecal done to check for internal parasites?