Indian Runner Ducklings... and one looks TUFTED?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by marathonmultiplesmom, May 31, 2011.

1. marathonmultiplesmom

marathonmultiplesmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Chehalis, WA
    I got the indian runner eggs on trade. I found the seller on ebay and she has been extremely friendly, and helpful. In addition we had a great hatch!
    But one little duckling looks tufted to me. This is my first year with any ducks. I have runner ducks from someone else that are a few weeks old. I plan to flock them together with the geese... so far so good on the older ones with the adult geese. I have geese and several breeds of chickens that I raise and breed for various purposes.

I need a duck expert to look at these ducklings and tell me what you think? Just a funny down? Or some kind of tuft? Maybe some recessive gene passed down from generations ago? The seller does show photos of her adults and none that I saw look tufted.

All in all I had a wonderful experience. The ducklings are healthy and cute and I got lots of extra eggs.

Here is a link to the sellers current ebay listing showing her adult ducks:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/12-INDIAN-RUNNE...ltDomain_0&hash=item19c5f06483#ht_2834wt_1082

See pics of all ducks followed by the "tufted" one with another of similar markings.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. gofasterstripe

gofasterstripe Chillin' With My Peeps

This is from her listing at the bottom....2nd line down

I have black, fawn & white, silver, brown, and, white.

Most of them carry the crest gene.

FERTILITY IS HIGH!

My hatch rate is high!

3. marathonmultiplesmom

Mar 23, 2010
    Chehalis, WA
    ah, I didn't realize what that meant... lol.
    Thanks, needed a 2nd set of eyes.
    [​IMG]

4. Ashleyy_x3

Ashleyy_x3 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 2, 2009
    Maine