Injured chick

Taylettice

In the Brooder
Jul 27, 2018
I have a week old silkie chick. I just went upstairs to check on them to discover the rack I had across the brooder box had fallen inside the box and had pinned down a chick. It's not very heavy and did not fall from very far( it was across the top of the diaper box I used as a brooder) it's been a couple of hours since I found the chick but she has been chirping alot and I even here a constant clicking sound coming from her when I put my ear up to her body. She also will not put any weight on one leg. I cant tell if there is any damage to the leg because I this is my first year with chickens. Is there anything I should be checking for.

Attachments

• 20181023_122220.jpg
    20181023_122220.jpg
    414.2 KB · Views: 45
  • 20181023_122234.jpg
    20181023_122234.jpg
    238.4 KB · Views: 17
  • 20181023_122224.jpg
    20181023_122224.jpg
    370 KB · Views: 17
Is she eating and drinking?
Baby chicks are constantly hungry so I would be alarmed if she isn’t interested in food or water. But if she’s still eating fine, she’s probably ok!
You can try to cheer her up with a crumbled hard boiled egg. My chicks go nuts when I spoil them with one! It’s good for them too, just not every day.

She is putting some weight on the sore leg now. It looks like the leg goes out to the side a bit when shes laying down.but I'm not sure if she is just holding it out that way to avoid putting weight on it. There was alot of chirping from her last night but shes quieter now. She stays under the light but will get up to eat and drink.