SGL70

Chirping
Aug 30, 2017
Lulea, Sweden
Next year I will get 5 chickens and I hope to have a finished coop to greet them.

I am planning for an insulated coop as winter can be a bit on the cold side. So with time on my hands, I set out to draw a design using SketchUp. (It has been a bit of a learning curve).

The coop is to be 8 x 4 feet and the run 16 x 8 (with 20" clearence under the coop):

HEN90004_Coop&Run.png
HEN90004_Coop.png

The roof lacks insulation, there is no ventilation and there is no inside (masonite) or outside panelling in this drawing.

Originally I intended to have doors on all sides of the coop, so there might be an addition (the winter is long up here).

Feel free to comment and suggest (I AM new to the game)

ATB,
Greger

Nice cadd model.
Read your other threads too......chickens in the arctic a whole different kettle of fish.
Not sure anyone one here has done it at your latitude.
Heat/ventilation and lighting will be key challenges.
Not sure what to suggest.....but sure look forward to seeing how you roll.

x2! Try the Alaska thread for advise too.
I insulated my coop with fiberglass batts behind thin plywood, and several years later (NOW!) am tearing most of it out. Rats and mice moved in this year, causing misery for everyone. The rats killed three nice bantam pullets, and ate a lot of eggs, before they were eliminated. The mice have been eating feed, and peeing and pooping everywhere. UGH!
At least we don't have Hanta virus here, and chickens don't get Leptospirosis, but still, there's nothing healthy about this.
I still have an insulated roof, nice both summer and winter, and hope to not tear it out too. We'll see...
If you do insulate, be careful! Don't repeat my mistakes. Mary

Thanks!

I will do my utmost to keep rats/mice at bay. Not exactly sure what needs to be done, except not having any holes allowing access to the insulation.