Kind of freaking out....

MamaL

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 5, 2013
Upstate NY
This is my first time every having chicks. I have two birds that keep doing the same thing. They eat fine, drink fine, run around and sleep fine. But they keep opening their beaks and stretching out their necks, one is even scratching at her throat. The other one is not. I searched for what might be wrong and I'm coming up with respiratory infections, parasites, worms, etc. They are both about 3 weeks old. I dont know if their eating the bedding and it's getting stuck in their throat. I tried looking down their throats but cant get a good look. To be honest I'm not even sure how to get a good look down their throats. Any ideas what I should do. Do I treat for worms or should I treat for respiratory issue? They are chirping loud and clear, they also make these small chirping sounds.

I'm trying not to freak out but from what I've read they could die from any of these things within days and I have no idea what to treat or how to treat.
sad.png

Mine did that on occasion when they were really small, but they are all fine, about 4.5-5.5 weeks old. Respiratory usually is open mouth breathing, and you can get stuff to give them for respiratory issues.