Lavender Ameracauna rooster Breeding to SOP

winterwolf4

Songster
Feb 17, 2023
Oregon
I have two Lavender Ameracauna roosters. I am trying to pick which one is better. Rooster #1 has a smaller comb. While rooster #2 has a bigger comb. I am new to breeding Ameracaunas so please help me figure this out.

I do not have good full body pictures of them, but I will work on getting them tomorrow.

Attachments

• 20230725_115533.jpg
    20230725_115533.jpg
    801.6 KB · Views: 51
  • 20230725_115826.jpg
    20230725_115826.jpg
    574.9 KB · Views: 13
  • 20230725_115045.jpg
    20230725_115045.jpg
    368.5 KB · Views: 14
Two possibilities exist for the comb size comparison.
One is that the more dominant cockerel is more developed. The subordinate cockerels actually have their testosterone levels suppressed. So any trait linked to sex hormones can be difficult to judge with multiple males.
The second possibility is heterozygous vs homozygous pea comb. Ameraucanas should have 2 copies of the pea comb gene. I'm not the best at judging combs, but I'm sure others will weigh in.

With Lavender, the smoothest, least shredded feathering is high priority. Even if they both look "fine", you want to keep selecting for that every single generation. A lot of work has gone into removing shredding from Lavender Ameraucanas, in my opinion they are the most advanced of all the breeds with a Lavender color. So I think everyone should keep it in mind. Whether it's officially more or less important than a proper comb, I'm not sure, but I would personally select for the best feathering as my #1 priority.

Two possibilities exist for the comb size comparison.
One is that the more dominant cockerel is more developed. The subordinate cockerels actually have their testosterone levels suppressed. So any trait linked to sex hormones can be difficult to judge with multiple males.