Lazy chicken or health issue

OneCountryChick

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jun 24, 2013
North Idaho (Garwood)
I'm new to raising chickens, so I don't know if I've got a problem or not. My 10-wk-old pullet appears lazy since she was just
a wee chick. She is feathered out and beautiful, but always the last to appear out of the coop, she forages when they are all out free ranging, but she never scratches the ground, just lays down to eat. She lays down a lot. Never comes for her share of the treats either. Is she just antisocial or could she have a vitamin deficiency? I did hold her yesterday and inspect her eyes and legs. She appears normal except possibly a very slight limp. Should I try administering a poly-vitamin supplement and see if it perks her up? Thanks anyone with ideas!

My chicken acted like this, although a very noticeable limp. I think she strained a leg muscle. I just put her in a small space so she would not stretch it anymore. A couple weeks should do it. You have to NOT feel bad for the chicken and let it out because it looks lonely and cramped in a small space, otherwise she'll strain it again and start limping again. Trust me. :) My chicken had it around that age too. It could be a vitamin deficiency, but I've never had a problem with that so I wouldn't know.

Today she won't come out of the coop when I brought a bowl of fresh fruit to my 6 girls. She will run and fly when I let them all out for the afternoon to free range, but she always lags behind. She seems to forage fine, but won't come get her fair share of treats. I added some bird vitamins to their water last night. Maybe I should deworm her. She doesn't act sick, but just not quite as happy and energetic as the rest.

She may be low in the pecking order, and they sometimes will lag behind. Has she always had a limp? She may have just strained something. If she is eating, drinking, and foraging okay I would not isolate or keep her caged up.