Lethargic with white spots on her cheek

noelgeorgia

Chirping
Jun 6, 2023
I'm new to chickens and five have 6 month old hens and one rooster. Something is wrong with one of my hens. She is lethargic and has been sitting in her nesting box all day. No eggs under her but she did lay this morning. Has a few little white bumps on her cheek. I didn't feel any eggs stuck in the vent. She can only groan. Faint clucking sound. Just checked and she's back in the nest instead of roosting with the others. I wasn't here this morning but my husband said there were a couple of soft eggs under her roost this morning from last night that apparently just fell out. I'm not sure what's going on. Should I bring her inside/separate her from the flock? Scrambled eggs, colloidal silver? I knew I would have to deal with sick chickens eventually, so here I am, a first timer and I'm quite worried about her. Any input is appreciated.
photo_2023-08-11 22.04.24.jpeg

Can you get some clear well-lit photos of the bumps, of her and her poop?

What do you feed, including treats?

You mention she groans? Can you get a video of what she sounds like? Upload video to youtube and provide a link.

If you suspect she's having troubles with soft shelled eggs, then give her extra Calcium for a few days. You can find Calcium Citrate with D3 in the vitamin aisle of stores like Walmart, CVS, etc. Give 1 tablet daily, just pull down on her wattles, pop the tablet into the beak and let her swallow.

See that she's drinking well and eating a nutritionally balanced poultry feed.

Any lesions inside the beak or a bad odor coming from the beak?