Little Giant

tia

Crowing
14 Years
Apr 19, 2009
Valdez, Alaska
Hello - I am new here. I am a classroom teacher hatching duck eggs in a Little Giant incubator. I need tips on ventilation. Do i leave one red plug out and then take the other out during hatch? Also humidity.. should I fill the smaller water area for the first 25 days then fill them both??? I have put a very small computer fan in.... I'm thinking I should keep the temperature about 100 degrees. (that is if I can figure out which of my 5 thermometers are accurate) Any help any of you can give me that have had experience with the Little Giant would be appreciated. Last time I tried... I had eggs moving around.. fully developed... didn't pip, so didn't hatch... : ( Help!!!

Tia

Hi Tia and
welcome-byc.gif
I'm not an expert but I have hatched several batches of chicks using a Little Giant. Did ducks just once and got one to hatch. I just now dusted off my LG which I haven't used in years and am about to try hatching some eggs. Little Giants are very very unreliable as I have learned since joining this site. Most people use a digital thermometer/humidity gauge now because humidity is extremely important. (I didn't know that for all the years I used my Little Giant and it may explain why some chicks developed but didn't hatch). I just got a gauge from Walmart for $6+ and am trying to get the humidity up to at least 50%. So far it's only reached 47 % but I haven't put the eggs in yet. In my case, I have plugged one hole, filled ALL the canals and even put in a wet sponge to raise the humidity. I don't know what the humidity is supposed to be for ducks but I think it's supposed to be higher than for chicks. Hopefully somebody here will be able to help you more with your questions. I would highly recommend you get a therm./humidity gauge because both are important and you need to know you are getting a reliable reading. Hope this helps a little! BEST OF LUCK!!!