Lone chicken😞

Mercyr79

Chirping
Sep 16, 2022
Mariposa, CA
Hi. We lost two chickens to a bobcat today. We are heartbroken for so many reasons. We now have only one line chicken left. I’m thinking of getting a couple of hens from my neighbors flock so she’s not alone. We got our birds from her a couple of years ago. Would I still need to quarantine the new birds even if they came from the same place? I’ve never done this before and welcome any advise. Thank you so much.

Attachments

• IMG_2874.jpeg
    IMG_2874.jpeg
    904 KB · Views: 13
Sorry you lost your chickens! :hugs I would say it's always a good idea to quarantine new birds unless they are ranging over the same areas and interacting with each other regularly already. Better to quarantine and be safe than end up dealing with illness on top of what you've already had to deal with.

Best to quarantine in all cases, however if the neighbor is very close by or you occasionally visit one another's property there's a decent likelihood that any diseases or parasites have already been transferred between the two groups of birds. Given that you only have 1 bird left I would probably skip quarantine in this case and take the risk of disease being transferred over having her alone for an extended period of time.

Sorry you lost your chickens! :hugs I would say it's always a good idea to quarantine new birds unless they are ranging over the same areas and interacting with each other regularly already. Better to quarantine and be safe than end up dealing with illness on top of what you've already had to deal with.
Thanks