Looking for reference photos of a behavior

mozartofsilence

In the Brooder
5 Years
May 3, 2014
Davis
Hello! I am a scientific illustration student, and I am doing a project where I am depicting an extinct animal. I was wondering if anyone has some photos of their chickens using their leg to scratch their heads or necks? Its been surprisingly difficult to find!
I will not be using the photos for anything but references to draw from and build a model of my nanuqsaurus.

Thank you for any help!

It'd be hard to get a photo of that because they are moving and that turns it into a blurry photo.

You might be better looking at videos and when you see someone doing it, pause and make your sketch from the still of the video?

Thats a great idea! I've found a couple - however when you search for 'chicken scratching' it brings up a lot of foraging chickens. I'll keep digging through though.

Thats a great idea! I've found a couple - however when you search for 'chicken scratching' it brings up a lot of foraging chickens. I'll keep digging through though.
Yes, it's not really "a thing" that you'd expect people to tag. Does it have to be a chicken doing it? My cocky (galah) does it, you might find it more easily in a parrot video, although if you want it side-on, you might not get it there, either.

Yes, it's not really "a thing" that you'd expect people to tag. Does it have to be a chicken doing it? My cocky (galah) does it, you might find it more easily in a parrot video, although if you want it side-on, you might not get it there, either.

I'm illustrating Nanuqsaurus which is a type of tyrannosaur, and chickens are usually a great reference for the legs. I find the articulation of the toes on parrots and other perching birds to be difficult to translate to what I need. It was a bit of a long shot but I figured if I were to find them they would be here!

and other perching birds to be difficult to translate to what I need.