Mallards or calls?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by bayyjayy, Oct 9, 2011.

1. bayyjayy

bayyjayy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 5, 2011
    Utah
    I have always called these three my mallards, but their faces are SO tiny and my girl is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO loud.....I am talking LOUD! She sounds like she is laughing. Anyway......can calls be colored like mallards? What do you think?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I always thought I had caused my one boy to break his wing....everytime I would try to get them from their indoor pen to their outdoor pen and vice versa....they acted like I was trying to kill them. I just assumed I had made him break it, but I am pretty sure it is angel wing. Very weird....had no idea.

2. riane'smimi

riane'smimi Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2010
    orange va
    My grey calls look like them .Calls are very small and that would be one way to tell.Both of my grey calls have blue in their wings also.
    I am not a duck expert but thought I would answer the best I could [​IMG]

3. StevenW.

StevenW. Lovin' My Quackers!

Oct 7, 2010
    Central, Illinois
    I have no idea...

Where did you get them?

4. bayyjayy

Jul 5, 2011
    Utah
    I got them from neighbors down the street......I just assumed they were mallards. They now have a TON of white ones....and I am pretty sure they are calls. I am not sure where they got them to begin with, but there are sooo many of them in this neighborhood. I started wondering if they were calls once I got my little call/mallard mix, and because my female is SO tiny--her beak and face are just teeny--I wondered if maybe they were calls. So, calls can be colored like mallards? Didn't know that.

5. riane'smimi

riane'smimi Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2010
    orange va