Marek's Vaccine, can it be given twice?

3LilBirds

Songster
7 Years
Feb 27, 2012
Inland Empire, Southern California
My Coop
My Coop
My sweet little 8 week, well now 9 week old pullet is dying from what I believe is Marek's Disease. I was told when I got them they were given the shot but no actual proof of it. I'm worried about my other 5. I know there is a rare chance of them getting it even if they got the shot but would it be ok if I vaccinate the others again? This way I know for sure they've had it. I also think it's time I put Mumble down but I've never done it before and I knew there would be a chance I would have too someday, I'm just sick to my stomach over this. It's been about 5 days or so and there are no signs of improvement. I don't know if she is suffering but my guess is she very well might be even though she still chatters at me when I talk to her. I knew I'd get attached but not this attached. I just want to make sure I am doing the right thing.

This is a recent thread. This might help.

Bio-Security is needed.

[FONT=helvetica, sans-serif]I was trying to incubate my eggs to sell the chicks this year. My first set of eggs died after piping, I only hatched one girl. I opened each egg to find out what happened so I could correct this problem. After this first chick survived we had several chicken owners at our farm picking out hens from one coop. After they collected a couple of hens, they came into my hatching room where my one lonely chick was kept so I could write up the paper work and show them the NPIP certification. The whole time this is going on my two week old chick was riding on my shoulder. I spent most of my day with her with me since she hatched. If she wasn't with me she would drive everyone nuts crying for me.[/FONT]
[FONT=helvetica, sans-serif]I was out of chickens to sell, but my second batch hatched a week later.
jumpy.gif