Merek in a flock

bizzynik

Chirping
Apr 21, 2017
Kentucky
Help! I just lost one of my 12 week old pullets to symptoms of Mereks disease. After talking to the individual that I bought her, another pullet, and a roo from, she didn't vaccinate for Mereks. The other 10 pullets I have I know were vaccinated, and I'm not sure about my other roo. So far the other two are acting like their normal selves, so I'm a little on edge. How long do I need to be extra watchful, especially for those two? Is there anything I can be doing right now? Thanks for any advice, since I'm a total newbie. All of my pullets are roughly 12 weeks old, and the roos are 12 and 15 weeks, roughly.

You shouldn't mix vaccinated with unvaccinated. Vaccinated birds can be carriers from my understanding but they don't show symptoms. Not much you can do at this point except pick one or the other from now on. I personally don't vaccinate, and cull any that show symptoms. Either your birds will be fine or they will show symptoms. Not much you can do unfortunately.

Hi
I'm sorry to hear you might have Marek's in your flock, it is a horrible disease! I've had it for 3 years now and whilst there has been some heartbreak, it has not been as bad as many of the stories I have read of others experience.