my rooster keeps attacking me!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by hilltopchicka, Sep 10, 2014.

1. hilltopchicka

hilltopchicka Just Hatched

Sep 9, 2014
    Hello, I am new at raising chickens - this is my first year. I have 4 hens and 1 rooster. The rooster has recently started attacking me. However, he never attacks my husband. He tried to attack one of the grandkids a couple of times, but fortunately did not hurt him. Any suggestions on how I can make him stop? My hens are so laid back and sweet. I love them all, but I cannot put up with the roo attacking me and my grands!! Thanks for any advice you can give! :)

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Others have techniques that I'm sure they'll chime in with.
    Roosters attack predators and other roosters. He may see you as a competitor for the hens' attention. He may also see your husband as the dominant rooster. Whatever, I think one that attacks will continue to do so. Any that have attacked me tasted just like chicken.
    I think that behavior can be passed on to offspring.
    I keep very aloof breeds, move slowly around them and bring treats. I haven't been attacked in years and sometimes have as many as 30 or more roosters/cockerels.

3. hilltopchicka

hilltopchicka Just Hatched

Sep 9, 2014
    I never go to the pen without bringing treats and I always talk sweet and soft to them ... I am very soft spoken anyhow. I'm hoping he will stop this behavior, but if he doesn't, well, we will see. I am very much enjoying raising chickens and I am anxious to learn all I can. I have been reading BYC forums for quite awhile now. It is very informative!! LOVE IT!! Thank you!!

4. Folly's place

Folly's place Chicken Obsessed

Sep 13, 2011
    southern Michigan