My turn to be suspicious- male/female cochin? (drumroll.... BOY!)

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Atomic Ranch, May 16, 2011.

1. Atomic Ranch

Atomic Ranch Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2011
    El Cerrito, So Cal
    About 5 weeks now... I'm new to chickens... love this cochin! I've noticed an upright posture, some territorialism (though they all seem to be sorting themselves out right now), and a huge growth spurt this week. So, what do you all think? Too early to tell?

[​IMG]

Edit: I think it's more like 4 weeks here.

Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  2. Domestic_goddess

Domestic_goddess Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2009
    Utah
    I would think you would see more red in that comb by now if it were a roo! I'm guessing pullet! [​IMG]

3. Atomic Ranch

May 7, 2011
    El Cerrito, So Cal
    Oh, I really do hope so. Gosh, it's just so sexist!!! Aw... poor roos [​IMG] I would love to have one if it were legal to do so in my zone. A little noisy, but no more than the doggies around.

4. Minniechickmama

Minniechickmama Senora Pollo Loco

Sep 4, 2009
    Minnesota
    Looks like a cocky little cockerel to me.

5. Atomic Ranch

May 7, 2011
    El Cerrito, So Cal
    LOL, I get that impression, although he/she may be in the process of figuring out that it's bigger than the rest of them... challenging the Delawares who are older. What can I do if I can't keep him?

6. Minniechickmama

Sep 4, 2009
    Minnesota
    You can post him on Craigslist or something like that. Sometimes people are looking for a roo, but chances are if you can't keep him someone else may want to have him for dinner.
    I think it is a he because of the stance and the way it is losing those shoulder and top of the wing feathers. All my Cochin males go through that stage.

7. Atomic Ranch

May 7, 2011
    El Cerrito, So Cal
    Wow, tough break! [​IMG]

I'll keep posting photos. We'll see... What are Cochin roos like?

8. Minniechickmama

Sep 4, 2009
    Minnesota