Need advice for raising chickens on slabs

Carbon12

In the Brooder
Jul 14, 2022
Hi, Im very new to raising chickens (these are my first ones). I brought one of those omlet eglu runs thinking it would be great for raising chickens in my terraced house. My garden is all slabbed and the eglu just sits on top with the 3 chickens inside.

However after a day I’ve run into an issue with the smell. I find the only way I can keep on top of it is constant cleaning of coop and run everyday however I’m finding this quite difficult to keep up with and the eglu design doesn’t make this easy. I knew raising chickens wasn’t going to be a walk in the park however I find this method of raising chickens very demanding and not enjoyable. Am I doing something wrong any advice to how to better manage the smell/coop or do you think it’s something I’m going to have to give up as I was looking forward to looking after them whilst enjoying the hobby?

Thanks 😊

Attachments

• BAB65A27-3116-43E1-9767-6AC7B45B6E38.jpeg
    BAB65A27-3116-43E1-9767-6AC7B45B6E38.jpeg
    758.2 KB · Views: 12
There's no litter to absorb poop and the set up is very small overall. I don't see any way to keep the odor down other than frequent cleaning with the way this is set up. Do the birds get out at all? Is there any way to provide them with bedding, not just for cleanliness but also to give them some enrichment? Their instincts tell them to dig. They will also want to dust bathe.

hi I could provide them with straw bedding but I’m scared that would get wet and smell. Could try sand but I don’t know how I would stop that blowing away. We let them out to have a run for about an 1-3 hours a day. Thanks

You can use some trim wood around the bottom edge to make a bumper to help keep bedding in.