NEED HELP! What benefits/ important things to know about ducks?

Status
Not open for further replies.

maralynn28

Songster
9 Years
Mar 4, 2010
Corpus Christi, TX
Ok, so I'm VERY new at this...my ducklings are only 4 wks old and I ate my first duck egg 1 yr ago. Since getting my ducks, my neighbors and fellow students at the college have been asking me about them, why I got them (if I'm going to eat them
ep.gif
hit.gif
) and when I reply DUCK EGGS instead...everyone seems puzzled. One of my instructors overheard me talking about them and has asked me to do a 10 minute presentation about ducks, duck eggs and the benefits/ cooking with duck eggs.
I'm shocked, I admit I never heard about duck eggs being edible until 1 yr ago, but I got mine at a local farmers market and I thought they were a big deal around here! Apparently not and I'm taking it upon myself to educate the community about them! LOL!!!! My instructor is so interested she's already placed a duck egg order with me when mine start producing...um, maybe in 14 more weeks? ha ha ha Sorry, I guess I am passionate about this subject and it definitely interests me, but am really surprised that as ignorant as I am- I get to teach everyone else.
wink.png

So what would you think are the most important things people should know about productive ducks and duck eggs? I know they are bigger and have a slightly different flavor and texture, but are the nutritional values the same, better, worse than chicken eggs? What other benefits should I tell them about?

I'm so nervous about this, I did take a public speaking class and know how to organize speeches but NEVER got over the stage fright issue! Hopefully it goes well.

Last edited:
I took a public speaking class too, and my final project was to speak on a topic I liked.

Here's me and Miss Floppy getting an A. Good luck - presentations are only a part of the work.

2593_3507340480_ecc893b599_s2_2.jpg