New Chicken Mom Looking for Guidance!

lodom23

Hatching
May 23, 2018
Milwaukee, WI
Hi all!
I am new to owning chicks and hoping to acquire some advice.
City of Milwaukee ordinance states that we must have at least 16 sq. ft., living space per chicken. This can included the run as well as the coop (as Milwaukee also says coop cannot be larger than 50 sq. ft.)
With that said, I am wondering if anyone has suggestions for DIY coops that can withstand WI winters, keep predators out, and potentially hold up to 4 hens?
We are planning on just keeping bantams, but still have to abide by the sq. ft. rules established by the city in order to obtain our permit.
I've scoured this webpage and others getting ideas, however, all the information out there is a bit overwhelming. I've heard terrible things about pre fab coops so have recruited some friends to help build, just need a solid plan!
Thanks in advance for any & all advice!

--Overwhelmed & Excited Newbie

I bought wood storage sheds and converted them to coops. Works great for keeping out predators. Yes..the pre-fab are flimsy..wood iS very thin..waste of money! Also..use hardware fabric..as opposed to chicken wire..its predator proof. There are tons of designs on etsy.

I bought wood storage sheds and converted them to coops. Works great for keeping out predators. Yes..the pre-fab are flimsy..wood iS very thin..waste of money! Also..use hardware fabric..as opposed to chicken wire..its predator proof. There are tons of designs on etsy.
I've read conflicting info on hardware fabric in regard to the floor of the run. With the DL method, can you use hardware fabric within the bottom of the run and around the perimeter, and then layer your organic material? We have a problem already with chipmunks that dig so I just worry that we will have little critters trying to come in from underneath.