new mixed box of chickens - need help with breed & genders

mamahen82

In the Brooder
9 Years
Aug 29, 2010
HI there - we are new to backyard chickens and just picked up a box (labeled non-descriptively 'chickens') of 5 birds at the auction. None are old enough to be laying/crowing yet but I suspect there are a few roosters in the mix, hopefully not all.

I would so appreciate feedback on the genders and breed by any of you experienced chicken keepers, thanks in advance.

So here are birds #1 and #2 - I suspect hen on the left and cockerel on the right? (ignore the white & black one)What do you think? Also, what breed are these guys?
66642_chickens2.jpg

Here is bird #1 above (the one I hope is a hen) from the side.
66642_chickens5.jpg

Bird #3 - Even as a newbie I'm pretty sure this is a 'roo - big tail feathers, chubby legs with very obvious spurs
66642_chickens1.jpg

Bird #4 - so hoping this little one is a hen...but maybe too early to tell?
66642_chickens3.jpg

Bird #5 - I'm thinking another rooster
66642_chickens4.jpg

Thanks again, any insight is appreciated, otherwise we'll just have to wait a few months for either eggs or the crowing to start!

I agree that #2 and # 5 are roosters - #2 appears to be a black sex-link with very interesting coloration or a different combination of breeds than the usual black sex-link.

So far, the rest look like pullets. The black one looks like an Australorp, and I do not see any saddle or hackle feathers - although the comb is redder, is it possible that one is a little older?

Other than the Australorp, it looks like you've got some beautiful barnyard mixes. The white/gray one may be an easter egger - are the legs greenish?

Maybe other folks with more breed knowledge will contribute their thoughts.

smile.png
Melissa