Not getting any eggs after 4 months

Chadco

In the Brooder
5 Years
Feb 15, 2014
Dyersburg TN
I am new to raising chickens, and have built my flock up to about 30 chickens, i was getting 14 to 16 eggs a day up until May and then it completly shut off. Now about 4 months later i am lucky to get 2 eggs a day. I have read about moult, but didnt think it would last this long. My oldest hen is less than 2 years old. Is this length of moult normal, or do i have something going on, they have almost an acre fenced in area to roam. They are just a mix of barnyard breeds. Any help wiil be appreciated. I need to learn something today. Thank you

If you have a mix of different breeds, stress could be an issue. Sometimes different breeds don't get along very well and pick at each other. Are any of the chickens sick or acting strange since they stopped laying? Maybe they aren't getting enough calcium in their diet, or maybe they have worms. Worms usually causes all laying to stop until the chicken is cleaned out. Worms are found in the chicken's droppings. To deworm them, put a small clove of garlic in their water (I have a 1 gallon waterer so I use a small clove), but if your waterer holds less than a gallon, I would decrease the amount of garlic you treat them with. But before you try anything, pay attention to their behavior. All of them should be perky and alert, almost always moving about and picking at things and hanging around other chickens. They shouldn't look tired, lethargic, or droopy and dull.
smile.png

They were all pretty much rasied together, they were all laying and then it stopped. I have wormedthem all with ivomec

You can buy oyster shells from any local farmer's store and give it to them free-choice. This means that you serve it to them in a separate container, and they will only eat as much as they need. Only give them small portions per day, you don't want to overload them with calcium
lol.png