Palliative Care

mullys

Songster
10 Years
May 3, 2011
We love our hens, are vegetarians, I am a retired vet tech. We have had a small flock of egg layers for about 10 years. They live in the barn inside an insulated large size , rodent proof coop. We went into keeping hens hearing about chickens that live ten years or more. In the last decade we lost one or two hens a year. Our chickens generally live 6 to 7 years. We never have had injuries of any kind. One hen with impacted crop we treated at University of Guelph for an exorbitant amount. We didnt hesitate or mind. They told us that crops are rarely impacted on their own, usually it is part of a gut slow down due to disease.
This past year 2019, we lost 6 hens. Various diseases as it turned out after necropsies and genetic testing.

THIS IS MY QUESTION. What do you do when you find a hen who is puffed up, not social, not eating? It's very cold outside so we brought Rosemary indoors, into our basement where we have a nice pen setup. We have been giving her scrambled eggs and cereal, her favourite treats etc. She has access to her regular food and water. Yesterday she ate today not so much. We are trying to decide what to do. We have never saved a hen with treatment, apart from regular de-worming and the hen who went to the OVC at Guelph. Rosemary does not nave an impacted crop, or any other noticable problem, her poop is okay She is 7 this year.
Is it okay to just let her die on her own? Of course if it looks like she is suffering there I have a vet who will euthanize her for us. She seems comfortable, just puffed and not eating.
We spent a fortune this year and never saved a single hen. We are both retired and have some money for vet care but find that our hens just end up having fatal diseases, usually genetic, usually the result of bad or careless breeding according to our vets. Or bred to be eaten before they turn one.