Pekins surviving a MN winter - Help!!

SteffieInMN

In the Brooder
12 Years
Sep 18, 2007
Hi all - Newbie here, this is my first post. While I don't have chickens, I recently adopted 3 Pekins (2 drakes, 1 hen), saved from the freezer after the county fair.
smile.png

All has been going well so far - they have a great life here, free range during the day over my 5 acre yard, great protection at night in my old round mesh corn crib. It's time to think winter, however, and I'm looking for advice on what exactly they will need.

Can I keep them in the corn crib with a dog house as shelter? Is that not enough? Do I need to move them into a coop-like environment? If so, I'd better get building...

I'm in southern MN, about 35 miles south of the Twin Cities metro area. It gets really cold here - -20, sometimes well below zero for several days at a stretch.

I obviously need to get a water heater, but my question is more about what kind of shelter the ducks themselves require. Would they be ok in a doghouse, or do they need a structure?

Thanks...

Hi, and welcome to the BYC! Im not a duck "expert" but I had several last winter...free range. They just settled down in the snow, by my truck, and did fine. I had a place for them to go into, they just preferred to NOT go in there....clean straw...out of the snow and ice...nope, they seemed to like it. I just made sure there was plenty water...and added LOTS of corn to thier diet for warmth. A dog house would be great for them, if they will use it. Now....on the numbers you have. That poor hen! Come spring...you will have to either put one drake up...or put the female up...for safety. They will mate her to death! You really need to think about getting at least 2 more hens! LOL ( yes, I am an enabler! )

Yes, I totally hear you...I've already observed the teenage behavior from these two boys. They seem to have enough space to chase each other off so no major problems yet.