• Total voters

RiverStorm

Enabler
5 Years
Apr 3, 2017
Kentucky
My Coop
My Coop
Hi! So bear with me for a bit of info, I'm new to the world of geese. I've had chickens for around 11 years, but have never owned a goose or duck, or anything of the sort. We own a large flock of chickens and are growing relatively large garden, and are hoping to create a movable pen so that we can section off a small portion of our flock and move them around as living composters. But we also have a large amount of predators in our area, including hawks, possums, raccoons, skunks, cats, and stray dogs. Now, our birds would be well secured in the pen, but it'd be amazing to have a living alarm with them so that if anything came poking around, we could get it away before it found a way in. (And I've always wanted to try my hand at raising a goose, they're amazing creatures) I've heard a lot about "guard" geese, and they sound like a good option for us.
Keep in mind this won't be happening for at least another year, I just want to start getting all the information on these birds that I can so that I can properly care for them and make sure they live the happiest life possible.
For awhile now I've been poking around on the internet, reading articles and watching Youtube videos, to find ones that match our requirements, pretty much that they're a docile and either smaller or medium sized breed. I kept coming up with Pilgrim geese, and the fact that they're supposed to be a pretty quiet breed until predators are around, which is a huge plus, and they're auto-sexing. Honestly, they sound perfect and are pretty cute too. I'd like to only get one that is a female, and I'd be raising her up from a gosling with a batch of chicks.