Please help! Integrating Chickens 15 weeks and 6 weeks

Nicci0110

Songster
Mar 15, 2023
Senatobia, MS
I have 15-week-old Rhode Islande Reds and Mixes (5 pullets and 1 Roo) and seven 6-week-old pullet chicks (Buff Orpington, White Leghorn, Barred Rock, Red Sex Link, and one Easter Egger) I have set up a makeshift cage next to my bigger chickens run. I started putting them next to them yesterday in the daytime only. I have read I should do this for a few weeks and then try to integrate them? Is this true? Any recommendations? I am new to this and had no idea this was going to be such a hurtle. I do not have a second coop to put these babies in if this doesn't work. The newest flock is all female. I have one Rooster who seems to be a little bit of a jerk in his teen phase but am ok with rehoming him if needed and I have one RIR that is a real crabby lady who can also go if needed. My older chickens are free ranging now. Everyone else in the older flock is very mild mannered and docile. Should I wait 3 weeks and try it out or how should I go about this and know the time is right? I really need this work sooner rather than later as I do not have another coop for these babies now and the makeshift outdoor brooder is not safe at night but is perfectly fine in the day. Yesterday everyone seemed unphased but the Rooster did make some noises but nothing more. I know it is dumb but I really assumed I could just allow them to be together but I was naive and had no idea. I have only been doing this since January and had no idea this would be a problem. My run is not set up really to put the box in there so they are beside it. I do not think putting them in would make a difference since mine are out foraging daily from sun up to sun down.

Do you have other chickens besides the six 15-week olds and the seven 6-week olds that you are needing to integrate with or just the 13 young ones? How big is your run and coop?