Please...my pet chicken is eggbound...time is of the essence

lusty

In the Brooder
11 Years
Aug 2, 2008
Vancouver Island, Canada
I just returned home from being away 2 weeks. My hens came running to see me and I noticed one was missing....then I noticed her painfully waddling toward me like a penguin. She is so distended. I have my son with her right now in the hen house and I have a lamp on her. She ate out of my hand...but didn't want to drink. How can I get these eggs out of her??? Does she really have a chance? I don't even know where the duct is!!! Sorry...ignorance can be bliss...but not this time...help please???

Click on the 'Search' function to link to many responses on eggbound hens. I have no experience but I do remember about gently bathing the hen in warm water to assist her...please let us know how she is doing

i tried doing a search on egg bound for you. Some folks suggest lubricating the vent, then inserting a pencil to break the egg and remove it. Others cautioned that the broken shell could cause damage to the hen's insides.

If it were me, and because i have never tried anything tricky like that, i would get my hen to an avian vet pronto.

When my silkie hen was egg bound a gave warm bathes in the sink, lubed her vent with KY or vasoline. I could feel the egg low by her pelvis. I did end up having to take her to the Vet because when I tried to massage it out, it broke. They removed as much of the egg shell as they could and told me if it passed in the next few days she would be o.k. I put her on Terrimyacin and watched her for a few days, I never did see the egg fragments, but it's now been 6 months and she's fine. Hope she does well...
hugs.gif

okay so now i have soaked her in a bath of ohot water and near the vent at the base of her feathers i am finding clusters of sporous mass. does any one now what this is?