poultry Genetics book

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by The Breaker, Jan 8, 2013.

1. I'm looking for a book for complete beginners on poultry genetics I have one book but I didn't under stand most of it.

2. Any one?

3. 3riverschick

3riverschick Poultry Lit Chaser

May 19, 2009
    western PA
    My Coop
    There are several out on the market. The top ones need to be special ordered and cost a bit...worth every penny because of their easy-to-understand language and many color illustrations. What is your breed?
    The top two general books have the same author. Her name is Sigrid Van Dort. The first one is "Genetics Of Chicken Colours : The Basics" By Van Dort, Hancox and Friends. It covers the plumage of chickens.
    The second is a companion volme, published this year. It covers everything else. "The Genetics of Chicken Extremities" By Van Dort. ( Van Dort is in Europe and calls Extremities "Extremes" instead.) Here is the webpage for these 2 books:
    http://www.chickencolours.com/pagina3.html
    These two books cover the genetics of the chicken. Note Jerry Schexnayder of Louisana, USA, of the North American Serama Council is the source for the "Extremities" book in the USA. So if he still has them, you don't have to pay overseas postage on that one. Use the XY currency calculator http://www.xe.com/ucc/ to figure out the prices in US dollars.
    The other critically important book you need is the APA Standard of Perfection. 2010 is the latest edition. Read especially the first 38 pages.
    You can find it here: http://www.amerpoultryassn.com/APA_ShoppingMall3.htm
    Are you also seeking books on breeding systems for chickens? Systems vary with the individual flocks' needs. In-breeding, line-breeding, out-crossing, close-breeding etc. They all have their place when the flock has need of their value.
    Best Success,
    Karen in western PA, USA

Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  4. BRITROCK

BRITROCK Out Of The Brooder

Dec 23, 2011