We need your amazing chicken photos for our 2020 Calendar! Submit your pics HERE!

Question about roosters

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by workindog, Jul 18, 2019.

1. workindog

workindog Songster

Dec 11, 2015
    CT
    Is it possible to keep more than one rooster together? I have a listing to rehome at least 3 of my 4 young roosters. In my post i said they arent to be eaten, killed or used for fighting. Im HOPING people with farms and free range birds would be interested.

I finally got a message from someone wanting all 3. He said he has a pen with 6 birds and room for more.

I am new to chickens but it sounds sketchy to me. Why take all 3? My understanding is if you have more than one, they will fight. Am i over thinking this or could this actually work?

I know the odds of finding them all actual "homes" is slim but the thought of them being hurt in some way hurts my heart. I mean iffffff it comes down to it, I would rather do a humane dispatch for meat vs cock fighting or possible animal torture.

So can 3 roosters live together? Or could this guy possibly be up to something??

Ty

penny1960 and chrissynemetz like this.
  2. Wolfefarmyard

Wolfefarmyard Crowing

Aug 18, 2017
    Gansevoort, NY
    Multiple roosters most definitely can live together, provided there’s enough hens and space. There will be a “top” rooster or one that’s more dominant.

3. Wolfefarmyard

Wolfefarmyard Crowing

Aug 18, 2017
    Gansevoort, NY
    However, if he only has 6 hens that would not be enough for 3 roosters. He’d need a lot more!

4. centrarchid

centrarchid Free Ranging

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri