question about talking to the post office...

lilchicklover

In the Brooder
8 Years
Apr 16, 2011
I have to go to the post office today to tell them I ordered chicks and that they should come in next week, what should I say or tell them to do when they arive? What do most post offices say after you tell them. Should I tell them to call right after they get there or will they already know. Sorry I'm new to chickenhood. Thanks

Since I live in the boonies, my post office is used to orders of chicks, so they just took down my name and number and gave me a call at 7:15 the morning the birds arrived. I'd venture a guess that most post offices have similar protocols in place, even if they aren't as rural as mine.

I was actually going to go down today and tell them that I'm expecting another small chick order via express mail next Tuesday, but I didn't get around to it, mostly because I got involved setting up my compost pile and planting a couple of blueberry bushes. I guess I'll do it Thursday morning.

When we ordered ours, we called the monday we knew ours should be shipping, told them we were expecting baby chicks and that our phone number would be on the package. They just said OK and they'd call when the chicks arrived. Sure enough the called a little before 7am that Wednesday to let us know our chicks were making noise in their mail room so we crawled out of bed and my husband went to get them while I put out water and feed in the brooder and turned the heat lamp on so it'd be ready when the baby girls came home.

nothing to it

When I got my chicks thru mail, the hatchery gave me estimate date to arrive at post office.
So I called a day before the estimate day and told them chicks are coming and left my cell phone number.

THEN that morning, I've never got phone call!! They said they will call me!
SO I called when the post office is open (9am) and found out that my chicks were there but post master dialed wrong number and poor some lady got "chick call" 6am!!!