Questions, questions, questions please

kjxoxo1

Chirping
8 Years
Oct 16, 2011
Okay so I'm new to anything bird, chicken...saw to say feather related in terms of raising. I've raised so far about 100 guineas, and chickens. My family absolutely love quails and want me to try my hand at raising some to butcher. I have some questions that I'm hoping you guys could give me some insight to.

1. I'm reading for meat I will want to purchase Jumbo Cotournix quail. Is this the consensus?

2. What is the best hatchery to mail me quail chicks? I really don't want to try to hatch eggs yet.

3. Quail surrogator seems like it's easy to use to raise quails. Is it? Again, I don't want to release but to keep where we can butcher in 6 weeks.

4. I've also read that the Bobwhite quail actually taste the best but are the most difficult to raise. Does anyone have any experience with this?

5. What's the hardest part about raiding quails?

6. Do they bite or rather peck? Will thru fly away easily ( I'm trying to determine the best type of set up I will need for them)

Thank you all so much in advance!!! I'm so happy I stumbled across this board....you guys have helped me out tremendously!!!!
Thanks!!

Okay so I'm new to anything bird, chicken...saw to say feather related in terms of raising. I've raised so far about 100 guineas, and chickens. My family absolutely love quails and want me to try my hand at raising some to butcher. I have some questions that I'm hoping you guys could give me some insight to.
1. I'm reading for meat I will want to purchase Jumbo Cotournix quail. Is this the consensus?
2. What is the best hatchery to mail me quail chicks? I really don't want to try to hatch eggs yet.
3. Quail surrogate seems like it's easy to use to raise quails. Is it? Again, I don't want to release but to keep where we can butcher in 6 weeks.
4. I've also read that the Bobwhite quail actually taste the best but are the most difficult to raise. Does anyone have any experience with this?