Raccoon Attack

claramarilyn72

Hatching
6 Years
Jan 14, 2014
A raccoon came and attacked our four chickens. Unfortunately, only one has survived. She is alright, but has some flesh wounds which I don't know how to treat. Many of her feathers on one side has been pulled off, and some of her flesh has been scratched and is left bloody. Is there something we should put on her wounds? What do yall suggest?

The sugar shrinks swelling so it works very well on abscesses. When I was a nurse, we packed it in bed sores. :^) If your chicken doesn't develop an abscess, you won't need to use the sugar. But the NFZ puffer should work if it's an open wound.

If the poor little guy's bottom looks sore, I think I would? I've never used it on chickens, but LipsChicks above has. The NFZ won't "stick" like the neosporin will.

UPDATE: Thank you all for the wonderful advice. I took Stacy bird to the vet yesterday, and they said she would make it through. I was really worries because her skin had been torn off so that
you could see the muscles. The vet gave me antibiotics for the next ten days, and also told me to apply honey on her wounds once a day, which is apparently a great antibacterial for chickens. I have to keep her inside for the next week or two until the wound heals, so that no dirt or any other pest gets into her muscles. She is staying in a dog cage and not enjoying the forced medicine twice a day BUT she will just have to deal with it. I'm letting her roam the house a little bit so that she doesn't feel cooped up. Thanks again!

First I would rinse it with saline solution. No sailing solution just wash with some water little bit of soap. Hydrogen peroxide would work as a disinfectant, or iodine is also effective. Just basic first aid care like you do if you'd been scratched... Try to keep her quiet and comfy and watch for signs of infection. I'm so sorry you lost your birds :hugs