Rooster hanging out in nesting box?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by MissHenrietta, Dec 6, 2018.

1. MissHenrietta

MissHenrietta In the Brooder

Nov 27, 2018
    Upstate NY
    I have a 6 month-old Leghorn Rooster that has been hanging out on and off in one of my girls’ favorite nesting boxes. This morning I walked out and he was sitting on 2 eggs. Can roosters be broody? Is this a thing? lol None of my hens are broody at all. Is there something else I should be concerned about? He seems very healthy. Another time, one of my hens climbed into the box and he got right in there with her. I’m still pretty new to this whole chicken owner thing, so maybe this is normal behavior, but it just seems odd to me :hmm

2. Fishkeeper

Fishkeeper Songster

Oct 30, 2017
    Central Texas
    No, roosters can't go broody. Possibly he just thinks the box is a comfortable place to sit, or he's trying to take care of his girls.

3. Trish1974

Trish1974 Araucana enthusiast

Mar 16, 2016
    North Central IN
    My Coop
    Does he make any sounds while he's doing this? My cockbird will do that (in front of the hens), making soft purring sounds and arranging the straw as if he is showing them where to lay. (Little does he know they were laying there before he was even born :lol:). I find this to "gentleman-ly" behavior.

4. sourland

sourland Broody Magician

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Roosters will select a nest box and call the hens to it while scratching and forming a nest as @Trish1974 has suggested.

5. azygous

azygous Free Ranging

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    Yes, some roosters, depending on breed, can decide to incubate eggs along with a hen as well as assist in brooding them. @centrarchid had a rooster do this and documented it. (I can't find this thread, though)