Rooster stumbling like hes drunk...

Paully3

In the Brooder
6 Years
Sep 11, 2013
The Thumb of Michigan
I just went out to the coop to give a mealworm snack and I noticed my Rhode Island Red rooster had a hard time getting up and coming over to me. When he finally did get up, he was stumbling back and forth and side to side and sometimes falling. As I am fairly new to chickens, I have absolutely no idea what this is or if its contagious or how to treat or what...please help. I'm at a loss. I've looked online and can't seem to find anything real quick. He is 3 years old, eats a diet of 16% layer crumbles with fire choice grit and occasional mealworms...

I just went out and checked on him and he won't get up and the girls were starting to peck at his feathers so I pulled him out of the coop and put him in the house in a dog kennel. I noticed that he was mouth breathing and that he has a considerable amount of drainage coming from his nostrils. I'm very concerned about this being contagious and running through my whole flock. This progressed very rapidly as last night he was fine. I check my birds every night when I close up the coop. His nostrils had no moisture and he was on the top roost. What is happening to my main man!

Ok, calm down... what is the roo like now?

Is he vaccinated?
Could anything have poisened him?
:(

I'm honestly not sure if he was vaccinated. We bought him and 6 hens from a farm a ways away. All between the ages of 1 and 4. They were beautiful heritage birds and obviously well cared for. The lady we bought them from got teary eyed when we were leaving. She didnt want to sell them but had to because of finances. But vaccines? I dont know. Everybody else seems OK for now...

They are in an enclosed coop and run. They've been there since the end of July
I can't imagine what could have poisoned him...and if so, wouldn't it b more than just him?