Seeking Spalding peafowl photos for science!

Sarah Rackowski

In the Brooder
May 28, 2023
Cornell University
Hi everyone!
I'm an undergraduate student doing Research with the Cornell Lab of Ornithology on naturalized hybrid peafowl in Southern Florida to better understand the ecology of introduced and invasive bird species. Part of the project is proving that the population of birds in question are indeed hybrids through visual means, which is where I need help from you!

If you keep adult male spalding peafowl, I humbly request photos of them in order to compare with feral individuals! Photos ideally have a good view of the bird's facial skin, crest and wing. If you know the birds's ancestry (recently cross between green and blue, backcross or splaying x spalding cross) add it, Also let me know how you would like to be credited for providing data (name, attached to the photo or DM'ed to me, or as an anonymous contributor) to be included in a paper if this research ever gets published.

Thank you for your help in advance!
Sarah

Last edited:
I have many pictures I will send this evening. One thing that you should be aware of is that hybrids, (Spaldings), do not breed true. You will get varying amounts of Green blood from continued crossings. The only true percentage is Green x Blue of 50% all other crossings will be either lower or higher percentages.

Since you are detailing phenotype also be aware that not all common ideals of Spalding will be evident. Many people think they need to have yellow cheeks that mainly appear during the breeding season. It is more common to find that the cheeks may only be very pail or have lots of or just some blue which is hard to breed into hybrids. I can show you a hen with deep yellow cheeks with the body of a Blue.