Selecting breeding stock for mottled houdans

CHICKENX2005

Songster
Feb 2, 2024
Hi, I'm thinking about starting a small breeding flock of mottled houdans. I'm new to the breed so I'm wondering how to select good breeding stock. I have a couple of chicks now and I'm going to get my next batch soon. So here are my questions. What are the disqualification for mottled houdans? I can't find anything online that explains this. At what age can you tell which chicks will be the best breeding stock. Are there things to look for in chicks when I first get them? For example will the size of the 1-2 day old chicks tell me anything? Just curious. Are there things you can tell about their future personality when they are young? Thank you for any information. 😁

A lot of Houdans are undersized so choose ones as close to breed standard as possible.

As they feather out, a lot of white at an early age is indicative they will have too much white as they mature.

Depending on where you sourced your chicks, I've heard some have weak chicks or chicks with cross beak. I would cull these as soon as they are evident (cull could mean keeping as a layer, a pet, or eating depending on your preference).

Aside from obvious defects like the crossed beak scenario, it's best to let your stock grow as long as possible before you make final decisions. Take notes about their development along the way so that in the future you can track how your particular line develops. As you become more familiar, you could potentially cull earlier.

If you are on Facebook, join a group called Houdan Chicken Fanciers. They can guide you in selecting the best stock from what you have or help you connect with others.

Last edited:
Agree with @AprilWC