Separating chick feed and layer feed

CKfarm22

Crowing
Jul 8, 2021
Central NJ
I have three laying hens that are on layer feed but i also have two 4 week old baby chicks. Right now the chicks are in a brooder in the coop so the older birds can get used to the chicks. But when the time comes, the chicks are going to grow out of the brooder they are in but will still need to be on chick feed until 18 weeks old. Right now i’m feeding the chicks the medicated feed by purina, and i know the older hens can not have that, so when the time comes how can i separate the feed or should i switch the chicks off of the medicated feed at a certain age? I’m new to having older hens and chicks together!

I think what most people do is give the whole flock either an All-flock food or starter/grower food and then give supplemental calcium on the side in the form of oyster shell and crushed eggshells.
The babies can be weaned off medicated feed at that point, but you don't need to be too fussed - I had left-over medicated feed and the whole flock finished it up rather than waste it.

The perfect solution is
- chicks and hens eat non-medicated food that is NOT for layers (all-flock, or starter/grower) and hens get supplemental calcium on the side
- then, when the chicks start laying everyone gets layer food
I am just saying you don't need to be super paranoid about small bits of leftover. Medicated chick feed does not have dangerous medicine in it - it contains Amprolium which blocks thiamine in the coccidiosis bug - there is no issue eating eggs from hens that have eaten some of it.
I don't think it would be good to feed it long term to the hens, but if you had a week's worth of medicated food left over from the chicks I would certainly let everyone eat it rather than let it go to waste.
Similarly, if the chicks happen to eat a tiny bit of layer feed it won't kill them - long term it is not good for their kidneys - so I would remove it from the run until they are ready to lay.