Sexing welsh harlequin help?

prestoconfuoco

Songster
May 26, 2019
Upstate NY
Hey all,

I'm just a bit paranoid that my 7 week old welsh harlequin might be a drake, but I'm very new to raising ducks -- and I've never had a drake -- so I don't know how to tell that well. Here are a few videos I took to showcase the sounds she makes and what she looks like. (There are also two 8-9 week old pekins? or white layers? not sure yet...wandering around in one or two of these clips!)

I just got worried because I noticed her head is that darker shade, and I know adult males have a darker head than body.

Any thoughts?

(ps. that mess isn't their usual habitat, don't worry! I had them out on the floor)

One of them really sounds like a boy... can't pinpoint which one though. There is nothing wrong with a drake and are allowed in most cities. They make less noise than ducks.
I think that might be one of the layers(?) which has a lower voice than the other two of the three.

The only reason I mind at all is because I have two adult females, and five ducklings of various ages -- once they're all together I just want a good ratio of males to females!

I think that might be one of the layers(?) which has a lower voice than the other two of the three.

The only reason I mind at all is because I have two adult females, and five ducklings of various ages -- once they're all together I just want a good ratio of males to females!
Oh I see! well I think 1 male to 3 females is good honestly. Those golden 300 types may be what I am hearing...

Thanks for the response. What makes you think so? Is it the appearance, or are the noises drake-like? (If you go to the later few videos you won't hear noises from the layer ducks.)