Shelter for ducks during the day in cold rainy weather

goats-n-oats

Songster
Feb 10, 2022
Hi, I'm new to ducks and having an ongoing struggle with proper housing for them. 11 ducks 4 months old. They are trained to hop up into a horse trailer inside the chicken coop in a new steel barn, and in the morning they will go out on their own, usually when there is a bit of daylight. (It is an ongoing struggle to get them to go inside at dusk- any little noise or rooster will spook them and they try to run back to the pond.) Today the weather is cold, rainy, and windy in the Midwest. I'm concerned the ducks might suffer from exposure. They are sticking close to the barn but will not come back in until dusk. I built them a little shelter by the pond but they won't go near it. I put some food in the shelter but they still didn't go near it; even after seeing the chickens eat it. Short of permanently housing them in a large cage with a kiddy pool, not sure how to provide proper shelter for these ducks.
IMG_20231121_100759020.jpg
IMG_20231121_100846341_HDR.jpg

Your ducks are being ducks!

I have a duck that hates the rain and will go inside the coop when it is raining, standing there looking forlorn. The others stay outside, getting wet and looking forlorn! Your ducks will not suffer ill effects from the cold now they are fully feathered. If it's too uncomfortable for them, they will take shelter before dusk

I use to rush mine in with rain storms but now I realize they enjoy wet grass to dig in
I have a covered deck , enclosed outdoor area attached to the coop where I keep all the feed and water
( Keeps snow and rain out of the feed ). I have other little houses set up and yet mine still sit outside In rain and wind

Mine hang out under a fir tree in the worst winter weather. I think the low branches and snow make an igloo and the ground stays bare. Last year we had record cold weather and out they ran only to sleep under their tree all day.

Attachments