Shipped eggs

Iggys Acres

In the Brooder
6 Years
Mar 21, 2013
Texas
So this is my first time incubating eggs I ordered thru the mail. I was just wondering if 3 out of 16 was good? 3 having viable chicks growing and 13 being duds? They are about half way done "baking" so praying I get all three babies. I understand shipping is tricky business, I don't blame the seller, I was just wondering.

ive had no eggs hatch on shipped eggs, and Ive had 11 out of 12 hatch. the post office is rough on eggs, even the best packed eggs get shaken and broken.

one thing I have learned, as a rule of thumb the closer the better. I try to order eggs from neighboring states when possible.

i prefer to pick up . last year i had 1/6 twice with shipped eggs and 11/12 with the eggs i collected.

just waiting to see how my latest lot goes. out of 12 duck eggs,5 are looking good.4 have detatched air cells. the 6 silkie eggs all have pretty poor air cells. i ordered from less than 100 miles away.

i wonder if courier services are any better?

I really don't know about the courier service. I can tell you on eggs I haul locally I get about 70% hatch, on eggs gathered from my farm I get about 90-95% hatch.

I have found with shipped and hauled eggs its better to set them pointy end down and not on their sides. if the air cell is displaced it puts it back where it belongs.