Sick chicken- sour crop?

kmmy414

Chirping
Oct 5, 2020
I have a 3 year old (this spring) golden comet that has been sick for about 2 days now. She has been walking around slightly upright with her head kind of tucked back into her neck. I noticed yesterday late afternoon water leaking from her mouth so I checked her crop and it felt squishy and airy and as I massaged it some brown liquid came out. I looked up information matching these symptoms and thought maybe she has sour crop. I put her in a dog crate in the garage without any food or water and checked her crop this morning. Her crop seemed to be empty (I'm still new to this but it definitely didn't feel like her crop normally does when she has eaten). I noticed more liquid so I did the crop massage/help her vomit procedure again until no more liquid was coming out (being sure to let her breathe). I did notice the liquid this time seemed a little more slimy. I kept her in her crate and gave her some coconut oil, a little scrambled egg and some mushy feed. I also put a dish of water with apple cider vinegar in it as well.

She did poop last night (picture attached) and I tried to feel around to see if she was egg bound and I dont think she is but I'm need to research that aspect more and will do so while at work today. I dont know the last time she laid an egg as I have 2 golden comets and wasn't closely monitoring it (but would guess only one has been laying for about the past week and a half) My overall egg production has only recently started to pick back up from the winter and is still pretty inconsistent so that wasn't a big red flag for me.

I noticed a warm looking thing in her poop, is that a worm?

Any other tips, advice, next steps would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20230316_072647.jpg
    20230316_072647.jpg
    449.6 KB · Views: 38
  • 20230316_080637.jpg
    20230316_080637.jpg
    351.3 KB · Views: 7
  • 20230316_080622.jpg
    20230316_080622.jpg
    373.1 KB · Views: 5