Sick crested duck

mamanani

Hatching
8 Years
May 2, 2011
I hope I'm doing this right, it's my first time here. One of my four white crested ducks (seven weeks old, large and well feathered, but unsure of weight) has been acting strange for a few days. He seemed to trip while we were rounding them up a few nights ago, and he didn't get up right away when I approached him. I helped him up and he limped away, but we decided to see how he felt in the morning. He seemed fine all the next day, but yesterday I saw him fall off the very low ramp that leads to the wading pool, and he flapped around on the ground for a moment and then lay still. As I approached him, he lay totally limp in sort of an odd pose. I helped him up again, and after struggling with balance for a few minutes, he collected himself. He carried his neck tucked way in all day, and continues to do so today. He walks slowly, but keeps up with his flock, although he doesn't forage like the rest. I've seen him take a few drinks of water, and he can move his neck but doesn't seem to want to move it very far. My husband approached him today and he made a weak attempt to waddle away, then appeared to seize up, arching his back and sticking his legs out in the air. After my husband held him a while, he collected himself again and walked off.