Squatting question

Leo1

Songster
11 Years
Jul 1, 2011
Saco, Maine
I feel like this would have been asked and answered, but I can't find anything. How common is it for a hen to squat, for her human, if there's a rooster in the flock? My hens have always squatted for me, but this is my first time raising a cockeral with them. Curious.

In my experience, not very common.
I've only had a few hens squat for me and I don't think I've ever seen it since I've had roosters running with each flock.
That is after hundreds of roosters and thousands of hen.

I also disagree with the consensus that squatting is an indication that laying is imminent. Considering that I have about 100 or more hens a year that don't squat but still lay consistently.

In my experience, not very common.
I've only had a few hens squat for me and I don't think I've ever seen it since I've had roosters running with each flock.
That is after hundreds of roosters and thousands of hen.

I also disagree with the consensus that squatting is an indication that laying is imminent. Considering that I have about 100 or more hens a year that don't squat but still lay consistently.
I've got a 9 year old who squats for me and she's not in lay. Only when we are outside, which is interesting and I it comes in bursts. She was not raised with a rooster and finds the cockeral terrifying. And i mean terrifying; he comes near her, she runs for me, yelling the whole way. One of the pullets, squats for me, but runs, like a bat out of hell from the cockeral. So far, 1 of the 3 pullets squats for me, the 3rd hasn't started yet. I'm super curious if she will for me. Sounds like my girl may be the exception.