Texas Natural Feeds

jadorsey9

Songster
7 Years
Apr 29, 2013
Fort Worth, Texas
Has anyone used their (texas natural feeds) products before? They are made in Waco and are available in the dfw area. Non soy and non gmo but not technically organic) I am on my first bag of layena but I am uncomfortable with Purina products. Just looking for some feedback on this brand.

I have been feeding Texas Naturals Feed Lay Pellets only for about 4 months now. I've started having problems with thin egg shells and soft shelled eggs, probably 4-5 a day out of about 3 dozen. There are many feeders filled with free choice oyster shell, and nearly all the chickens are free range over 2 acres. Is anyone else having this problem?

we get a few thin shelled a day as well out of a couple of hundred. But no more than we were getting before. I will however take better note of this. As long as I supplement with shell, I don't have a problem. But then I have always had to supplement. Thanks

I have been feeding Texas Naturals Feed Lay Pellets only for about 4 months now. I've started having problems with thin egg shells and soft shelled eggs, probably 4-5 a day out of about 3 dozen. There are many feeders filled with free choice oyster shell, and nearly all the chickens are free range over 2 acres. Is anyone else having this problem?

I've lately been mixing crushed oyster and egg shells as a supplement, fed separately from the feed. Our girls will pick through to eat the egg shells first and then barely touch the oyster shell. Their shells do seem stronger since we started feeding back the egg shells. They also never ate much of the oyster shell in the first place, but that was in the summer when they had more stuff to free range on (I assume bug shells are high in calcium). We feed a grower feed since we have a rooster and don't want to overload his kidneys with too much calcium.