The best way to go about moving to a different state?

LittleChickenLady

Songster
8 Years
Mar 4, 2011
Clanton, Alabama
So my boyfriend and I live in Indiana and would like to live in Alabama (around the Clanton/Maplesville area). The UK is actually where we want to live, but it doesn't seem practical. Both of us are stuck working seasonal jobs where we live now and don't have much experience. I am also a college student.
hide.gif
What advice would you give to a young couple wanting to move to a different state? How do you go about finding jobs or a place to live in a different state? We'd actually be staying with one of his family members until we found a home, but I'd rather not stay there long and want to know about loan options/rental opportunities and what are some requirements? I'll add that we've never had our own place either.
sad.png

With a vehicle. Walking will take too long.

Sorry... couldn't resist.

When my mom tells people she is from Australia... Countless, ohh, countless people have said exactly this...

People - "So what brought you over here?"
Mom - "A plane."

lol.png

We followed the grandkids and moved from Okla. To Tn. My wife found her job and we found the first house we lived in ,on the Internet. Now days you can learn a whole lot just by researching the new area on the net. Also try and make a couple of weekend trips just scope the newarea out and get the feel of it. New beginnings are fun,scary,difficult,and rewarding all at the same time. You are young and it will be easy for you to adjust. Good luck and don't worry,if you fall down,just gerbil and start again!

Last edited:
scratch'n'peck :

start out by doing lots of research on line about the area. you can find out a lot about rentals and job postings in the area.