The feathers around the egg duct have all fallen out!

Dawnshka

In the Brooder
6 Years
Oct 24, 2013
New Hampshire
I didn't notice this yesterday but when I checked on my 6 chickens this moring, as I do a couple times per day anyways, I noticed my first year egg laying australorp chicken had lost all of it's feathers around it's bum. Maybe 3 inches in diameter. It's red looking and I couldn't get a good picture of it since she kept moving and I can't seem to post pictures on this site.

It's my first time with chickens. I live in NH and we got our first real snowfall yesterday, almost a foot. Can anyone shed some light on what's happening to her? None of the others have this. AND she layed this morning.

Feather picking, moulting, mites can all cause feather loss. Are your roosts set far apart enough so that birds can't pick at each other? Do you let them out at sunrise, and lock them in at sundown? leaving birds cooped up for too long with limited space can cause feather picking, behavioral stress. The best time to check for mites is in the evening when birds are roosting. Take a flashlight and pick up a few birds, checking each one's vent, under wings, along the belly. Mites are usually dark or red colored specks about the size of a pin point that move along the skin. Feather mites burrow into the quill of a feather and some burrow in the skin near the base of feathers. This causes chickens to become irritated and pull feathers.