Tips dealing with local governments

jaj121159

Songster
11 Years
May 27, 2010
Northeast Nebraska
1. If you are told something by a zoning administrator, building inspector, etc., pro or con to your questions, have them put it writing. Told you don't need a permit, have them put in writing via email or on letterhead. Not sure how close you can be to your property line have them write down or copy the setbacks from the code.

2. When in doubt ask a local attorney. These guys deal with the officials all the time. They know what they eat for breakfast.

3. Does your law have teeth? I am a zoning administrator, and thus the enforcement person, for two counties and five cities in Nebraska. I have one county attorney that will be very aggressive in enforcing our zoning regulations. The other county attorney not so much. The zoning regulations and the laws in Nebraska and most other places have a lot of bark, but only as much bite as the county or city attorney wishes to pursue.

4. Don't go to elected officials because they don't know squat. Ninety-nine percent of the time, local government elected officials don't have a clue to the answer of your question. What do they do? They go to me, the local enforcement guy. Think about it, one day they decide to run for office for ego, need a job, or are upset about something that happened. Once they get in there they are bombarded with things like budgets, roads, complaints, etc. They don't have time to read and understand all the regulations for a city. Consider looking up a typical city's codes and try reading them once through from beginning to end. First of all try staying awake during your reading. Second, try understanding the details. Third try becoming an expert in the pages upon pages of code in one sitting.

5. Talk to the staff. Find out who's in charge of a particular department and talk to them. I've been in Planning and Zoning for 30 years and if I don't know the answer right away, I know where it is and look it up.