trying to raise my chicks to health

tiffanyallotta

Hatching
6 Years
Jul 20, 2013
I am relatively new to chickens. I have 6 healthy Chickens from last years batch of chicks. Wanted to add to my flock this year. I am having a couple of issues, and I amwould appreciate any and all advice. First of all, most of my chicks come from the same individual, who I recently found out, orders from hatcheries. I have several different breeds in a room inside my house. Meey brooder is a Med sized child's swimming pool with shavings. I have ono, but te heat light.(they are now over two weeks old) I seem to have an outbreak of conjunctivitis. From what I read, this may be the start if upper respiratory issues. I am treating all of them with terra-vet 25g tetracycline hydrochloride activity. You really need to be a rocket scientist to figure out the dosage. Good thing my hubby works in pharmacy. We are giving .5 grams per gallon once a day for 10-14 days. I am seeing some improvement. Its been 5 days and all have their eyes open. I also have another smaller cage with a light with 4 chicks that are less than a week old. One was sneezing. At the referral of my feed store, they are getting the same treatment. My concern is if I am doing all that I can. I had a similar problem last year and I found apple cider vinegar worked better than the meds. My girls began with two tablespoons per gallon and kept that through winter. I now have them at 1 tablespoon per gallon. I am currently only using the meds for the chucks. I was afraid the acv might interfere with the antibiotics. And, as a side note, my chicken person advised me to use sulmet in the chicks water at 1tablespoon per large mason jar, everytime they get water. I was doing this the first week, til I noticed the first chick with eye issues. I have since stopped, but read that it is also an antibiotic. I already use medicated chick starter. I am afraid I may have caused irreversible damage by following his instructions. All of his f