Updated study of moults of Indian Blue peafowls.

clinton9

Songster
11 Years
Jul 2, 2011
I studied the Indian Blue peafowls in New Zealand, they are mostly kept by people, but there are feral birds that been shot as pest.

Breeding season November to January.

Moult season August of 1st year to September of 2nd year.

Peachicks in their 2nd month of age on March. Hatching month: January.

In New Zealand the adult peacock start to moult the primaries on November and shed the train on January / February and it take 8 months to reach fully length, fully grown by September.

On 16th January one alive adult male had new primaries 1st-2nd and 2/3 grown growing P.3rd and growing P.4th. P. 5th to 10th were old. Train feathers and tail feathers were all old and not in moult.

On 12th March one alive adult male had new primaries 1st -5th and 2/3 grown growing P.6th and growing P 7th and 8th. P. 9th & 10th were old. This bird was 3 year-old, by earlier moult season and had 1/4 grown growing train, with train feather tips 18 c.m. from tip of real tail feathers.

On 24th March 2012 the alive 3-year-old adult male peacock in new 3rd adult plumage, have new primaries 1st-6th and 3/4 growing P. 7th and 1/4 growing P. 8th and P.9 in pin., been shed on 8th March 2012. P.10th were old and due to shed on 25th March 2012, and primary 10th will be fully grown on 12th June 2012. The central tail feathers 1st & 2nd are in pins and less than 100mm from bases. Train feathers were short and growing, with tips of longest train feathers 200mm from bases at skin in front of tail stump. The new short train were first fully adult feathers with many eyes.
The 3-year-old peacock had 2nd adult plumage, with 6 eyes on plain green train on austral springtime 2011, before start to moult its old primary 1st on about 19th August, with train feathers shed on middle February.