Vaccines on small homestead flocks?

Jul 8, 2023
I am ending day 17 of my silkie hatch and have put 7 healthy eggs on lock down. I have done endless research and also spoke to other farmers in the area that have helped me greatly in the incubation period.

But I’m stuck on two things that have shown mixed reviews….

1- if I’m raising a small backyard flock with no other animals other than two dogs and some squirrels should I be using medicated chick feed for the first few months? Or organic feed? I will eventually free range my chickens.

2- how important is it to vaccinate your chickens if you are raining them for the sole purpose of pets with the added benefit of fresh eggs? I’ve red mixed reviews about vaccinations and small flocks.

Any advice would be AMAZING!!! I’m new at this and don’t want to jeopardize one single baby. 😬

The coccidiosis vaccine is unnecessary when feeding Medicated feed.
The mareks vaccine doesn't keep them from getting or spreading mareks, it just usually prevents the tumors that kills them.
Most vaccines are expensive and only available in 100 chick doses and it doesnt keep. If you have less than that, it not really worth it.
You will have to provide feed for them for their lives, most areas don't provide enough nutrients to support birds during the green months, let alone winter.
Unless you have feral flocks of chickens, it won't work.
Especially silkies, who struggle with vitamin deficiency.
I recommend a coop with a large run, since you will have times where you need to keep them confined, with weather, predators, you're out of town or sick. It makes it easier for you and others and safer for them.

Thank you so much for the advice? So you do recommend the medicated feed? I am in the process of building a large weather proof coop for them for the months they can’t run around I guess free range wasn’t the correct term but they will def be roaming around my yard eventually and want to make sure I am protecting them.