Very Strange Egg-First Egg (I think) of 2-3ish year Old Copper Maran + Other Egg Color Questions!

balletchickenmom

In the Brooder
Jan 14, 2024
Nashville, TN
Hi! Many questions here about egg color So I am relatively new to chickens; we started our flock last June-ish. We ended up purchasing 4 older chickens to start, 3 barnvelders and 1 copper maran—Harriet Sr. (We now have 9 chickens, 4 older hens and then 5 pullets. The older hens all started their molt fairly quickly into the summer last year (around August/September) we live in Nashville so it stays very hot until about October. These hens stopped laying around then and haven't laid all winter. Last week, our older Copper Maran Harriet Sr. who we assuming is either 2 or maybe 3 years old laid this egg which is entirely different from her normal dark colored egg. (I've included an image of her egg color from this past summer which is next to a Barnvelder egg for reference). Is it normal for an older chicken to lay an egg that looks like this very tan beige egg, that has some sort of fading of the OG color at the bottom? This is her normal egg shape, just not her normal color. I thought the color was always the same for chickens. Is it normal for older chickens to lay a weird colored egg their first time after a while note laying? She has not laid since this egg but seems otherwise fairly healthy. Our weather has been in what we call "fake spring" so it's like 60 degrees and then goes back down to 30 degrees the next week.